- HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors - http://www.hoopsworld.com -
Controversial call in Ohio State victory
Posted By HOOPSWORLD On March 24, 2013 @ 4:00 pm In Wirenews | Comments Disabled
by Chris Chase, USA TODAY Sports
The spotlight was on Aaron Craft after Ohio State’s last-second victory over Iowa State, not because of his cold-blooded game-winner, but because of a controversial charge he took late in the game that could have swung the game for his Buckeyes. With 1:15 remaining and Iowa State holding a one-point lead, Cyclones guard Will Clyburn drove to the basket, made contact with two Ohio State defenders, including Craft, and laid the ball off the glass for a tough basket.
Buzzer-beater eliminates Iowa State: Buckeyes advance
If the basket had counted, Iowa State would have been on the free throw line, up three points with 1:41 remaining. But officials believed Craft had set himself in a legal area before Clyburn released the ball. His heel was just above a restricted area under the basket and it looked like he had narrowly positioned himself to take the charge.
The Iowa State player was whistled for the foul, the basket was nullified and Ohio State gained possession. The Buckeyes tied the game seconds later, then won on Craft’s three-pointer in the final second.
Analysts on CBS and across the Internet disagreed with the call. Jay Bilas called it a “failure.” Greg Anthony, Kenny Smith and Charles Barkley disputed the ruling on the court. John Adams, the national coordinator of officiating for the NCAA, admitted it was probably a missed call, but said it was so quick that it’s hard to say for certain.
During the game’s broadcast, the legitimacy of the call was less clear. Clark Kellogg and Jim Nantz praised Craft for raising his heel so that it didn’t touch the restricted area under the basket, where charges can’t be called. There were multiple problems with that statement.
TV Schedule: Sunday’s games
First, if Craft’s heel was still moving, then he wasn’t properly set. That means it was a block and Clyburn should have been awarded the basket, plus one free throw.
Second, a defender standing over the restricted area is considered to be in the restricted area. The application of the rule isn’t like a ball handler standing with his heels over the out of … [For more on Controversial call hangs over Ohio State victory, click here.]
Article printed from HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors: http://www.hoopsworld.com
URL to article: http://www.hoopsworld.com/controversial-call-hangs-over-ohio-state-victory
Copyright © 2013 HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors
Part of the USA TODAY Sports Media Group.