NBA Admits Missed Call; Jones Fouled Kobe
Referees should have called Atlanta Hawks forward Dahntay Jones for a foul on Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant in the final seconds of Atlanta’s victory Wednesday, the NBA announced Thursday.
“After review at the league office, video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant’s shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws,” the NBA posted on NBA.com.
With five seconds remaining and the Lakers trailing 94-92 in the fourth quarter, Bryant took a 18-foot fadeaway baseline jumper and missed. With Jones putting pressure on the shot, Bryant landed on Jones’ foot with 4.9 seconds left and sustained a severely sprained left ankle. He is out indefinitely, hurting the Lakers’ playoff chances.