- HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors - http://www.hoopsworld.com -
Rondo: Ref Chest-Bump Not Intentional
Posted By HOOPSWORLD On April 30, 2012 @ 6:55 am In All,Headlines,NBA Headlines | No Comments
With 41 seconds left in last night’s 83-74 loss to the Atlanta Hawks, Rajon Rondo lost control. As a result, the Celtics point guard’s status is out of his control for tomorrow’s Game 2 of the first-round series.
Rondo accidentally stepped on Davis’ foot and then followed through with a chest-bump.
The Celtics are hoping the momentary trip is enough to save Rondo from a Game 2 suspension.
“Obviously, I was upset about the call and I said some words to Marc,” Rondo said. “I deserved the first tech, and as I was walking I thought he stopped, my momentum carried me into him — I even think I tripped on his foot — I didn’t intentionally chest-bump him. But that’s what it appears to be.”
The league’s official rule allows Rondo that key piece of wiggle room, stating: “Any player or coach guilty of intentional physical contact with an official shall automatically be suspended without pay for one game.”
Article printed from HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors: http://www.hoopsworld.com
URL to article: http://www.hoopsworld.com/rondo-chest-bump-to-ref-not-intentional
Copyright © 2012 HOOPSWORLD | Basketball News & NBA Rumors
Part of the USA TODAY Sports Media Group.